They did it!

Our family just finished a 30 day media fast.  It was so very good. There are seasons in life that you come to the realization that you need to do some weeding in your garden. Creating a sense of routine and order. Letting a method of structure support freedom. This is what that fast did for us.  We all just tuned back in to each other and to the river of life that flows through our little family.

Here are some of the things our kids said they “got” out of the fast. Evening in their moaning and complaining..they were getting it. They were enjoying the freedom that this particular weeding was offering.

photo

The older I get, the more I understand, that the smallest of details have the deepest impact overtime on yourself and those closest to you. A loving response to others(especially our children as it is what shapes them) …a habit of orderliness (as it allows for freedom across the board) being frugal (contrary to popular belief…we don’t need more money…we need more time and to steward what we have well…including time) and the gift of being with those you love emotionally, verbally, relationally…not just physically present but wholly present to them are all tiny building blocks of life that are investing in a rich bank account of wholeness. All these baby things done consistently over time create space and freedom and ability to do all that you were created for to honor the knower of all things! A reflection of his glory and majesty.

So, I weed, I water, I nurture, I reflect, I invite His presence, I rest, I honor,I speak life, and every day….I receive a little more peace, and stress melts away and I find myself  living actually…. submersed within the living reality of this verse.

Philippians 4:7

And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Pax,

The Abbess

 

Talk at Me!

