Spring is Here!

It is very exciting to me, after 3 years of saving, chipping away and sweat equity, our backyard is finally finished. I just need to plant my raised beds and bring my city chicken home and I will be in business. When we bought this foreclosed “crazytown” house 3 years ago (a miraculous story by the way) we KNEW it would take a good 3-5 years just to get it up to snuff. It has been a labor of love. My amazing husband has built, repaired, replaced and repainted so much around here the list is too long to mention. We wanted to live under our means, in a working class neighborhood with varied ethnicity around. It is the oldest neighborhood in our city and is directly in the middle of town. No gated community, no HOA (which around these parts is HARD to find) and lots of freedom to love the city we have been called to. I can’t explain to you how thankful I am every single time I pull up to our little home, knowing it was hand-picked and given to us by the Lord. I will tell you that whole story later, but he truly did pick it out for us.  My Flicker page has the reno documented from crazy town start to not so crazy finish.

The backyard has been a mess of weeds and dirt for years. The pool, which had been left unattended for 3 years as it sat in foreclosure, needed to be resurfaced and the fence rebuilt. We took it one project at a time, paid cash and just kept dreaming. I will say, the backyard would stress me out all the time. I spend most of my day in the back of our house schooling our children…looking out on the mess…and I would dream. It is good to dream with the Lord. It is good to whisper prayers of hope and life into things. It is good to be called to restore broken down things.  And slowly, through our steady persistent effort a space of calm and peace is a gift for whoever is able to enter.

I have random pictures sprinkled throughout my instagram feed. I guess I should take legit pictures now that we are almost complete.  (That means it has to be clean to do so, so ya, I will get right on that one.)

yard

I will say, it has been a physical symbol of an inward reality. Discipleship takes time.  Hard work is worth it! Slowly cultivating something, praying with the Father, dreaming of what could be, not just in your physical space but what you could cultivate spiritually in the world is a worthy way to spend your hours. We are slowly and steadily renewing the world.

Keep Dreaming,

Pax,

The Abbess

“The greatest issue facing the world today, with all its heartbreaking needs, is whether those who, by profession or culture, are identified as ‘Christians’ will become disciples – students, apprentices, practitioners – of Jesus Christ, steadily learning from him how to live the life of the Kingdom of the Heavens into every corner of human existence.”
Dallas Willard, The Great Omission: Reclaiming Jesus’s Essential Teachings on Discipleship

 

2 thoughts on “Spring is Here!

  1. Love it, Amber! We dream of a similar space to call our own one day. I’m partial to the “fixer uppers” in the older neighborhoods myself (after watching a foreclosed home come back to life in my parents’ hands). Love the symbolism of it all as well. ❤️

Talk at Me!

