Blue Hair a Little Bit Early

I thought it would be funny to dye my hair blue on my 40th birthday. Everyone says 40 is old..so I thought I would take the “old lady blue hair” idea on a different spin.  Sadly, it didn’t work;( I was so disappointed. My hair is notorious for not holding color of any kind. So, this one is going to take some work to pull off over the next few months.I ended up with a faint blue hue that you had to look really hard to even see it. GRRRR. Way to mess with a girl’s plans hair dye.  I must say, it started as a funny thing and now that it didn’t work, I really want to do it, so I guess you could say I am a nutter. Since my 20’s I have tried them ALL. Red’s are my favorite but in this season of my life, I have neither the time, the money or the patience to stay with it.

photo 1

I mean…fun coloring takes some serious time..which I have little of. My hair has been every length and every style in the last 20 years. I am not particularly attached to my currently long hair. I am hanging on to it a bit longer because it is one simple bonding thing I have with my mini. She loves to sit and practice braiding it..so for that reason I keep it. One day soon I will go wicked short again. My husband is such a sport when it comes to my hair adventures.

photo 2

Another fun adventure for me in this season is learning how to recover from adrenal fatigue and take appropriate rest and down time with no stress. One of my stress outlets has been working out. Running, yoga, crossfit really whatever is a challenge is super fun to me. Doing it all, at the same time however can really jack you up! Couple that with high stress levels due to ministry and kid responsibilities and you have a recipe for disaster.  I was thrown on my ass and put in the corner for several months. So, now that I am out of the woods so to speak, I have to learn how to move forward slowly and steadily, not allow my heart rate to go too high and rest plenty. So, it was a thrill to hit RTG weights on my first WOD of my 4th decade. (RTG is a signifier meaning “road to games” of the hardest set of weights needed for a given work out of the day)  It is amazing how rest can help you body do more not less. Kind of nuts right. Not really, it is common sense but until you learn it the hard way, sometimes you can’t see the importance.

WOD

 

So these are my next little birthday gifts to me. Blue hair and building back my strength in a healthy way. My other 3 things are still in the mail/works so I will post as soon as they are here.

Isaiah 40:30-31

30 Even youths will become weak and tired,
    and young men will fall in exhaustion.
31 But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.
    They will soar high on wings like eagles.
They will run and not grow weary.
    They will walk and not faint.

Pax,

The Abbess

Talk at Me!

